REFSTAR – Radiant Heat Protection


People working in front of high temperatures like iron & steel or glass industry are exposed to high radiant heat which may cause injuries. Non-FR products like cotton or polyester may catch fire. High radiant heat also restricts working conditions.

REFSTAR protective clothing is designed to reflect the radiant heat ensuring people to work more comfortably and safely.

REFSTAR protective clothing should be worn on other protective garments to ensure an additional protection. They should be used as complementary equipment to current protective clothing, not instead of those.

Application Areas

Main application areas are classified as Airport Personnel, Aluminium Workers, Automotive Industry, Cement Industry, Ceramic Industry, Railways, Glass Industry, Iron & Steel Industry, Shipbuilding, Welding.

ISO 11612 Heat & Flame Protection:

The purpose of this standard is to provide minimum performance requirements for clothing to protect against heat and flame. Within many of hazards listed in this standard there are three performance levels (except Radiant Heat where there are 4 Levels). Level 1 indicates exposure to perceived low risk, Level 2 indicates exposure to perceived medium risk and Level 3 indicates exposure to perceived high risk.

  • Code A: Limited Flame Spread (A1, A2)
  • Code B: Convective Heat (B1, B2, B3)
  • Code C: Radiant Heat (C1, C2, C3, C4)
  • Code D: Molten Aluminum (D1, D2, D3)
  • Code E: Molten Iron (E1, E2, E3)
  • Code F: Contact Heat (F1, F2, F3)


REFSTAR garments are tested and certified according to ISO 11612 standard. Radiant Heat Transfer value of aluminized garments are much higher compared to woven protective fabrics. Radiant Heat Transfer Index is called C according to ISO 11612. There are 4 levels. C1 is the lowest protection level and C4 is the highest protection level.

Aluminized garments also give protection against molten metal splashes. Molten Aluminium Splash is Index D and Molten Iron Splash is Index E where D1 and E1 are the lowest protection level and D3 and E3 are the highest protection level.